Hotel:
Arrival :
Nights :     Rooms :
Old Warehouse.(1841)
Get Microsoft Silverlight
.

Olafsvik

Charming fishing town on the Snaefell’s Peninsula

Olafsvik Olafsvik - Click to enlarge!

The community Olafsvik developed centuries ago because of good natural harbor facilities and rich offshore fishing grounds nearby. The harbor was rebuilt and greatly enlarged in the 1950’s and since then Olafsvik is the most productive fishing town on the Snaefell's Peninsula resulting in thriving fish industry and related undertakings.

In later years the tourist trade has grown rapidly and the town now offers a variety activities and cuisine. Whale watching cruises and sea angling. Snjofell’s glacier tours from Arnarstapi are very popular. The town has a beautiful beach, a nearby waterfall, and an unusual triangle-shaped church.

There are many places of interest to explore in the vicinity and the nature of the Snaefellsjokull national park is a wonder of contrasts.

Olafsvik Snaefellsjokull - Olafsvik - Enni - Click to enlarge!

An old and exceptionally well constructed wooden warehouse, which was built in 1841, is still standing and is the home of the local folk museum with exhibits displaying the working methods from times now passed and the information centre. There is also a Maritime Museum with live fish in tanks.

There is a swimming pool in Olafsvik as well as a golf course, a camping site, a tourist information centre, garage, hospital, bank, post Office and other public services.

The town holds an annual Blues Festival and celebrates Faroese Days with a week-long summer Festival that is held in June or July.

Tourist Information Centre

The Tourist Information Centre is located in The Old warehouse home of the local folk museum, and is open in summer only Tel: 433-6930.

Old Warehouse (Pakkhusid) - Folk Museum

Old warehouse (Pakkhusid) on Olafsbraut, is a solid-looking timber warehouse built in 1841 by the towns leading trading firm who naturally, dealt with fish. Today it houses a folk museum which has good black and white photographs of the town and the obligatory exhibitions about the fishing. The museum is open only during the summer. While the museum is on the second and third floors of the building, the tourist center, a store, and various exhibitions can be found on the first floor.

Hotel Olafsvik Snaefellsnes

Click map to get directions

Hotel Olafsvik

Olafsbraut 20

355 Olafsvik

Phone : +354 436 1650

Fax : +354 436 1651


Open Mai-Sept

icelandicContact us by Email